Chakras Your Energy Centers

Anodea Judith (1996: p.5) provides a modern interpretation of the chakras:
A chakra is believed to be a center of activity that receives, assimilates, and expresses life force energy. The word chakra literally translates as wheel or disk and refers to a spinning sphere of bioenergetic activity emanating from the major nerve ganglia branching forward from the spinal column. Generally, six of these wheels are described, stacked in a column of energy that spans from the base of the spine to the middle of the forehead. And the seventh which is beyond the physical region. It is the six major chakras that correlate with basic states of consciousness…

7th chakraThe Crown Chakra
Sahasrara is generally considered to be the chakra of pure consciousness. It is located at the crown of the head. Sahasrara is represented by the colour violet and it involves such issues as inner wisdom and the death of the body. Sahasrara’s inner aspect deals with the release of karma, physical action with meditation, mental action with universal consciousness and unity, and emotional action with “beingness”

6th chakraThe Brow Chakra
Ajna (along with Bindu, also known as the third eye chakra) Ajna is symbolised by a lotus with two petals, and corresponds to the colour white, indigo or deep blue. Ajna’s key issues involve balancing the higher & lower selves and trusting inner guidance. Ajna’s inner aspect relates to the access of intuition. Emotionally, Ajna deals with clarity on an intuitive level The eyes, sinuses, based of skull, and temporal lobes are the body parts affected by the brow chakra.

5th chakraVishuddha: The Throat Chakra
Vishuddha (also Vishuddhi) may be understood as relating to communication and growth through expression. Vishudda is characterized by the color light or pale blue, or turquoise. Physically, Vishuddha governs communication, emotionally it governs independence, mentally it governs fluent thought, and spiritually, it governs a sense of security.

4th chakraAnahata: The Heart Chakra
Anahata, or Anahata-puri, or padma-sundara is related to the colours green or pink. It’s associated element is Air. Key issues involving Anahata involve complex emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, equilibrium, rejection and well being. Physically Anahata governs circulation,  heart, lungs, pericardium,emotionally it governs unconditional love for the self and others, mentally it governs passion, and spiritually it governs devotion.

3rd chakraManipura: The Solar Plexus Chakra The colour that corresponds to Manipura is yellow. It’s associated element is Fire.  Key issues governed by Manipura are issues of personal power, fear, anxiety, opinion-formation, introversion, and transition from simple or base emotions to complex. Physically, Manipura governs digestion, mentally it governs personal power, emotionally it governs expansiveness, and spiritually, all matters of growth.

2nd chakraSvadisthana: The Sacral Chakra The physical location of the sacral chakra is in the pelvic region. It’s associated element is Water. The Glandular connection is the ovaries or testes, which controls sexual development. Associated body parts are the sex organs, bladder, uterus in women, and prostate in men. The second Chakra is associated with the Color Orange. The key issues involving Svadisthana are relationships, violence, addictions, basic emotional needs, and pleasure. Physically, Svadisthana governs reproduction, mentally it governs creativity, emotionally it governs joy, and spiritually it governs enthusiasm.

1st ChakraMuladhara: The Base Chakra
Muladhara or root chakra is related to instinct, security, survival and also to basic human potentiality. This centre is located in the region between the genitals and the anus.  It is said to relate to the gonads and the adrenal medulla, responsible for the fight and flight response when survival is under threat.  Associated body parts are the kidneys, blood, and the skeletal system. The First Chakra is associated with the color red.  Key issues involve sexuality, lust and obsession. Physically, Muladhara governs sexuality, mentally it governs stability, emotionally the Root Chakra can affect our levels of aggression, anger, violence, and jealousy,, and spiritually it governs a sense of security, belonging to the whole .

If your chakra’s are blocked or improperly aligned/tune it can throw your system of both physically and emotionally. It may simply cause you to be afriaid, feel out of place as if you do not belong, or more seriously impeded your ability to create, manifest and just be happy.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *